Verse Exercises

A portfolio for her verses

What my nephew showed me

leave a comment »

shoesSeeing my father tend to and play with my sister’s young son now presents me with a telescope to the past. The fog of early childhood memory reconstructed by my nephew and my father at play. I begin to see how my father was like when I myself was little. Past the hurts that lodged a rift between us in my adolescence I saw that he was a very involved and very loving father. But growing up changes everything. Then we carry our baggage through the years, though at some juncture we are asked to return, to review, to make amends, or leave unwieldy chapters sealed off behind closed doors as we continue to curate what is seen in our personal exposition. . looking through notes, choosing which to keep

Written by thedoe

December 13, 2013 at 2:39 pm

Leave a Reply

