Verse Exercises

A portfolio for her verses

I thank you for not giving me flowers, ever

leave a comment »

I thank you for not giving me flowers, ever
Listening to what I did say,
Not thinking I only meant this to call its opposite
Because they say women say one thing
but mean another
Which, you know, confuses women what they truly are
Only I know what I do mean
I am not won by bouquets of thoughtless roses
Really it is not that this is cliche
But clearly, clearly
I am not won

Written by thedoe

October 3, 2013 at 9:32 pm

Leave a Reply

