Verse Exercises

A portfolio for her verses

Conversations

leave a comment »

I.

My Japanese student once aspiring writer tells me I’m too young to give up. When we are not talking about natural disasters around the world for her conversational English practice, she tells me stories about her daughters and her grandchildren who now fill her days. I tell her it is not too late to put out the novel she had dreamed of writing. She shakes her head no at the other end of the line. I can hear it in her voice. The connection is unstable. Her reply fades in and out. I am afraid of making her sad. She tells me a common housewife has nothing interesting to say, matter of fact and humble. I could think of only one thing to do. I disagreed.

II.

This catalogue of conversations was first started in an older blog.

Written by thedoe

May 24, 2011 at 7:27 pm

Leave a Reply

