Verse Exercises

A portfolio for her verses

Wounds and After-Wounds

leave a comment »

Wound

Somehow, I cut myself
while bathing
and now, I look at the crease
of crimson against the brown
of my skin
A creeping pain
begins to announce its presence.
I am reassured.
So I live.
So I live.

Scar, after the wound

I am looking for the wound
but not a shadow there
on my skin

Where has it gone?
Has it healed? Too quickly, it seems
Passing my notice, this quiet disappearance
of a cut,
once hurt.

Not a blemish, too neatly had the tool
lacerated the flesh, and as belated as my cry of pain,
so, too, my bewilderment at healing.
Without a scar, I can forget
it was ever there, but

but,

I remember. I cannot
pretend.

Written by thedoe

July 21, 2009 at 11:59 pm

Posted in Where the image is central

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

